Australian Embassy

Australian Alumni Award Winners Announced

Media Release

20 March 2017

Three of Australia’s most successful alumni have been recognized with prestigious awards at a “welcome home” gala event in Jakarta.

Australian Ambassador to Indonesia, Paul Grigson said that Australia is immensely proud of its alumni and celebrating their achievements inspires all those in our alumni community (known as #OzAlum).

“Everywhere I go, I meet talented alumni making significant contributions to their organisations and communities. This is also been reflected in the number of high-calibre Alumni Award nominations we have received,” Ambassador Grigson said.

Mouly Surya, a graduate of Bond and Swinburne Universities is the Australian Alumni of the Year for 2017. As an award-winning writer, producer, and film director Mouly founded film production company Cinesurya on her return to Indonesia. Mouly’s films Fiksi and What They Don't Talk About When They Talk About Love have received acclaim in Indonesia and around the world – bringing Indonesian stories and perspectives to international audiences.

The Innovation and Entrepreneurship Award has been presented to Fendi Liem, a University of New South Wales alumnus. Fendi established start-up company SEDAYU in 2009 which is now one of Indonesia’s leading engineering procurement construction companies with more than 100 solar power plants across Indonesia. The electricity generated by SEDAYU’s solar power plants has helped improve lives in some of Indonesia’s most isolated communities.

Monash University graduate Fahd Pahdepi has won the Outstanding Young Alumni Award. At only 30 years of age Fahd has published five best-selling novels and set up consulting firm for Indonesian writers, designers and photographers and to help government, political leaders and companies with social media campaigns.

25 Enterprising alumni received Alumni Grants for schemes such as rehabilitating reefs in Bengkulu, empowering domestic violence survivors and establishing a waste cooperative on Komodo Island are among the projects funded.  The next Alumni Grant Scheme round will open in April 2017.

Find out more about our 2017 Alumni Award Winners, images here.

Video: Fendi Liem - Winner of the 2017 Innovation & Entrepreneurship Award

Video: Fadh Pahdepie - Winner of the 2017 Outstanding Young Alumni Award

Video: Mouly Surya - Winner of the 2017 Alumni of the Year

Media Enquiries: 021 25505290