Australian Embassy

Scholarships and Fellowships

Australia Awards

The Australia Awards are a whole-of-government initiative bringing together scholarships and fellowships administered by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Department of Education and Training, and the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR). Australia Awards offers the next generation of global leaders an opportunity to undertake study, research and professional development in Australia and for high-achieving Australians to do the same overseas.

The Australia Awards in Indonesia program carries on a tradition of providing scholarships that have been offered by the Australian Government for more than 60 years. The objective of Australia Awards in Indonesia is to enhance Indonesia’s development through the contributions of internationally qualified professionals and a strong and positive relationship with Australia.

Australia Awards in Indonesia offers two types of scholarships: postgraduate courses (Long Term Awards) and intensive tailored short courses (Short Term Awards). The most promising candidates are given awards following a competitive selection process.

Successful graduates will become part of the Australia Awards Global and Indonesia alumni network, a vast and actively supported community of influential alumni.

You can find information about Long Term Australia Awards Indonesia at

You can find information about Short Term Australia Awards Indonesia at

You can find information about Endeavour Scholarships and Fellowships at

You can find information about ACIAR’s Australia Awards Fellowships at

University scholarships

Many Australian universities offer scholarships and grants to help support students with their study in Australia. You can use the scholarship finder on the Study in Australia website or search the websites of individual universities.  

Allison Sudradjat Prize

The Allison Sudradjat Prize is named after the highly respected Australian aid official, the late Allison Sudradjat. Ms Sudradjat was Minister Counsellor in Indonesia when she died tragically in the March 2007 Yogyakarta aeroplane crash. Established in 2008, Allison Sudradjat Prizes are awarded each year to four Australia Awards scholarship recipients from Indonesia (and two from Papua New Guinea) who are judged to be outstanding scholars and current or emerging leaders.  

The prizes provide up to $25,000 to current Australia Award recipients to pursue career-related interests such as work attachments, conference attendance and leadership training to help facilitate their futures in leadership. The Hadi Soesastro Prize targets scholars completing their doctorate in the broad areas of political economy, international economic relations and development. The Allison Sudradjat Prize targets scholars completing their masters or doctorate in the fields of health, education and development. The top Australia Award Scholarship recipients from Indonesia and PNG may also be eligible to receive an Allison Sudradjat Prize. Download the guidelines for applying at Allison Sudradjat Prize—Guidelines (PDF 77kb) and Allison Sudradjat Prize—Guidelines (Word 400kb)

Hadi Soesastro Prize

Recipients from Indonesia who are undertaking high level research and skill development at an Australian University are eligible to receive a Hadi Soesastro Prize.

The prize offers study assistance of up to $25,000 for one male and one female Australia Awards Scholarship recipient.

The Hadi Soesastro Prize honours one of Indonesia’s most eminent thinkers and economists, the late Professor Hadi Soesastro, who made major contributions to Indonesia’s development and Asia-Pacific cooperation. He helped found one of Indonesia’s leading think-tanks, the Centre for Strategic and International Studies, and often served as an advisor to the Indonesian Government. He was a good friend of Australia, helping foster warm relations between the two countries. He had strong links to the Australian National University where he was an Adjunct Professor until his passing in 2010.  

Elizabeth  O’Neill Award

The Elizabeth O’Neill Journalism Award is open to high achieving journalists from print, radio, television and online media organisations in Australia and Indonesia.

The Award commemorates the distinguished career of Elizabeth O’Neill OAM, who died in the service of the Australia Government in Indonesia on 7 March 2007. It builds on her tireless work to foster mutual understanding between Australia and Indonesia by encouraging accurate and informed media coverage. For more information visit Elizabeth O’Neill Journalism Award

 Previous Indonesian Awardees:

  • Meutya Hafid
  • Kartika Sari
  • Sondang Sirait
  • Arif Zulkifli
  • Devianti Faridz
  • Renne Kawilarang
  • Fitria Sofyani
  • Aiman Witjaksono
  • Marissa Anita
  • Josie Susilo Hardianto

Australia-Indonesia Alumni Forum

Australia's global alumni community includes people from around the world who engage in an Australian education or training experience in Australia and offshore. It also includes Australians who study, research and undertake professional development overseas. Read more at  and

Useful links