Australian Embassy

Australian Middle East Policy

Media Statement

16 December 2018

The Australian Government announced its decision on the status of Jerusalem on 15 December. The announcement contained four key elements.

First, Australia is absolutely committed to the two-state solution and creation of a Palestinian State, which remains the only viable way to resolve the Israeli-Palestinian dispute.

Second, Australia will not move our Embassy from Tel Aviv. The Australian Embassy in Israel will not be moved to West Jerusalem until after the final status of Jerusalem has been determined through negotiations between the Palestinians and the Israelis.

Third, Australia recognises West Jerusalem, being the seat of the Israeli parliament and many of the institutions of government, as the capital of Israel.

Fourth, recognising our commitment to a two-state solution, the Australian Government acknowledges the aspirations of the Palestinian people for a future state with its capital in East Jerusalem.